First Day of Kindergarten!!!

Posted: August 31, 2009 in Uncategorized

Zane started Kindergarten today. I didn’t cry. I had horribly red, itchy and teary eyes, but it was due to allergy season (*wink*wink). I never shed a tear, though. Not yet anyway…

He did so well. He dressed all cute and fancy and was such a stud the whole time. He didn’t get nervous, he didn’t get shy, he didn’t cry or run away, and he didn’t act like it was a big thing. Inside, I was reeling. I didn’t want my baby to be so big and bold. I thought maybe he would suffer a little from being scared and in a new place. But he didn’t. He played with his new friend Alex until the bell rang. Then he grabbed his HUGE backpack and lined up against the wall and smiled and waved at me. I hung around until I saw him dissappear around the corner. Before they left, his teacher, Mrs. Atkinson, had them repeat after her, “I love you Mom and Dad. I am going to behave and enjoy learning today and I WILL BE JUST FINE.” After that, he ran up to me and gave me a hug and kiss and told me he loved me. Just then, all the kids saw him and decided that their mommies and daddies needed ONE MORE hug and kiss. He was the FIRST kid to want to love on his mom. I felt so good about that. Recalling the story now is about to make me cry and I have done so well this morning!!!

I took a few photos before school. I didn’t want to lug my huge camera to the school and embarrass him (he is starting to not like me taking photos of him). I figured that I would be “one of THOSE parents” who can’t let go…and when I got there, I was the ONLY parent without a camera. I felt horrible, but at the same time, relieved. Those parents had smaller more compact cameras and I would have felt a little strange with my Pentax K200D and a 70-300mm lens. Plus, I would have wanted to stay all day and take pictures of ALL the things he got to do and learn…and I am pretty sure that wouldn’t have been ok with Mrs. Atkinson.

Next up are photos of his nicely healing face. To lighten the mood, ya know?

This was this morning, before we left the house for Meridian. He was eating yogurt and being cute as heck with his little outfit and nice hair. It broke my heart because I was the only one nervous!!

His dad HAD to splurge and buy him a dirtbike back pack that will last for years. Zane loves taking after his father and it is cute. So he flaunts his back pack and tells everyone that his dad picked it out.

We let Zane pick out his own shoes this year. Typically we get him two pair. One that Jer likes and one that I like. Both usually turn out pretty mellow and nice. Zane chose black and electric blue shoes. We laughed so hard, but didn’t deny him the shoes because he is so big and can make cute decisions like that now.

This is Zane’s second cousin, Becca. She is adorable and about a FOOT shorter than Zane (not really…but maybe 6 inches…) We had to use her address to get Zane into a better school district and one that his daycare will drop him off and pick him up at school so I can work. We met them at their house this morning and walked to school together.

This is Trevor. Also Zane’s second cousin and older brother to Becca. He is in 5th grade this year. Zane loves him to death. Trevor loves basketball and has gotten Zane to love it as well. They love playing together despite the age gap.

Last, but not least, Zane. He looks so handsome and was really itching to get to school by the time we got done with photos. He really was ok with everything. I wish I was as brave, (and cute and sweet.)

HOW CUTE!!!

Leave a Reply

